Biography of Hua Lu (吕华)

Dr. Hua Lu was admitted to Peking University (PKU) in 2002 where he did his undergraduate research under supervision of Prof. Jian Pei and Prof. Song Gao. After obtaining his B.S. degree in Chemistry from PKU in 2006, he joined Prof. Jianjun Cheng's research group at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE), the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). His Ph.D. research focuses on controlled ring-opening polymerizations of amino acid *N*-caboxyanhydrides (NCAs) for the synthesis and biomedical applications of novel synthetic polypeptides materials. He became a postdoctoral fellow at The Scripps Research Institute (La Jolla, CA) from 2011. With his mentor Prof. Peter G. Schultz, his current research focuses on developing novel site-specific antibody-conjugates using genetically incorporated unnatural amino acid for targeted cancer therapy via RNA therapy and immunotherapy.

Lu has received a number of merit-based awards. Particularly, in 2011, he was awarded the prestigious Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation Fellowship, whose alumni include 12 Nobel Prize Laureates and 58 elected members of National Academy of Sciences (NAS of USA), for pursuing his postdoctoral research. He is the winner of the 2013 ACS AkzoNobel Award for Outstanding Graduate Research in Polymer Chemistry, the highest student honor in polymer chemistry given to only one recipient each year across United States and Canada. His other awards and honors include: gold medal in the 34th International Chemistry Olympiad (IChO) in 2002 (in high school); Mingde Fellowship (2002-2006) from PKU; invited oral presentation in the 6th Excellence in Graduate Polymer Research Symposium at the San Francisco ACS National Meeting in March, 2010; 2010-2011 Yee Memorial Fellowship from the College of Engineering, UIUC: 2011 Racheff-Intel Award for Outstanding Graduate Research from MSE, UIUC; 2010 Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Graduate Students Aboard; and one of the five Honorable Mention Award of the 2012 IUPAC Young Chemists Prize.